[vdr] a little delete recordings doubt

Laurence Abbott laz at club-burniston.co.uk
Thu Nov 17 18:43:02 CET 2005


On Thu, 2005-11-17 at 16:24 +0100, Udo Richter wrote:
> VDR just hides the recording, and does the actual deleting later on in
> background. Unfortunately, the recording wont be added to free space
> until it is deleted.
> 
> The actual deleting only happens if VDR is idle (no recordings, no
> playback, no menus, no external connections, etc.), or if VDR is in
> urgent need of disk space for recording/cutting. (urgent need is less
> than 1G or 38min left)
> 
> Deleting can be done manually, by deleting folders matching *.del in
> /video, though additional care must be taken in case of multi-disk
> /video0 /video1 etc. folders.

And don't forget to 'touch /video/update' or you get all sorts of things
in the recordings menu!

You can force deletion of recordings using the undelete plugin: if you
start that and select 'delete' on one of the 'deleted recordings' it
finds, it removes the files then.

Cheers,

Laz




More information about the vdr mailing list